What are your credentials?
- Recognized by the Department of Public Safety
Bureau of Criminal Apprehension
- Certified National Rifle Association Instructor
- Certified Department of Natural Resources Instructor
- Supporter of Project ChildSafe
- Volunteer DNR Youth Firearms Safety Instructor
How long is the class?
Class length varies, but is usually around 5-6 hours.
What should I bring?
- Willingness to learn
- Pen or pencil
- Photo ID
- Tuition Payment
- Ammunition (50 rounds)
- Eye and Ear Protection (I do have extra if you don’t have any)
- Carry Gun (I have some you can use if you don’t have one)
How much do you charge?
Classes are usually $85 per person unless otherwise stated.
Do you give private classes?
Absolutely! The cost varies by location and what is required (range fee, classroom rental, etc). The cost per person is $85 with a minimum charge of $600 (covers up to 7 people). If you get 8 or more people you will get one free, you can either use it for yourself, another person, or divide it up among everyone, it’s up to you. If you’d like to set up a private class, contact us for more details. If you have a safe and legal place to shoot and a place to host the class, there are usually no additional fees (mileage charge may apply).
How much is the permit?
Fees vary by county, and Minnesota residents must apply in the county they live in (non-residents can apply in any county), either way it must be done in person. The law says they can charge the cost of the permit, up to $100 – whichever is less. (So guess what most charge?)
What is the shooting portion like?
I’m looking for safe handling, and shots on target at typical self defense distances. If you want to practice ahead of time, head to the range and shoot at paper plates at 10 yards or so.
What states accept your class certificate?
Any state that accepts state certified, NRA or DNR instructors.
Besides Minnesota, there are several states including Wisconsin, Iowa, Florida and Arizona (to name a few of the most common) that honor the Civil Response certificate of completion. I usually have packets for Florida handy in my classes for your convenience.
What is covered in the class?
- Requirements for a permit to carry and the MCPPA.
- Developing a personal protection plan.
- Conflict avoidance.
- Instruction in the fundamentals of pistol use.
- Firearms Basics.
- Clearing common malfunctions.
- Instruction in the fundamental legal aspects of pistol possession, carry, and use, including self-defense and the restrictions on the use of deadly force.
- Alternatives to firearms.
- Gear and Accessories.
- Kids and Guns.
- Violent encounters and their aftermath.
- Shooting qualification.
What are the requirements for the Minnesota Permit to Carry?
- Must be at least 21 years of age
- Must complete an application form
- Must not be prohibited from possessing a firearm under Minnesota Statute 624.714
- Must not be listed in the criminal gang investigation system
- Must be a resident of the county from which you are requesting a permit, if you reside in Minnesota. Non-residents may apply to any Minnesota county sheriff.
- Must provide certificate of completed authorized firearms training. Training by a certified instructor must be completed within one year of an original or renewal application. (624.714, Subd. 2a)